Web Development Module (Week 1)

I’m really excited to announce that I was accepted into the Open Code Tech Hire program! My week has been amazing and my journey has just begun. During my first week, we covered the basics of HTML5 & CSS3 with my new awesome professor Kurt Petrek!

The file structure is extremely important when it comes to web development. The bigger your project the more you need hierarchy and organization. I learned to always reinforce keeping your directories organized, and that there are actually standards you have to follow regarding folder structure.

The main HTML file should always be called “index.html” while being accompanied by their folders containing the appropriate files for the project. When self-teaching myself HTML5, I used to lack organization and put everything in the root directory. I learned the hard way when trying to build a big website. It’s strongly not advised, especially when working with other developers.

After we learned about the importance of organization, we learned the basics of HTML.

Most of what we learned was a refresher course for when I was self-teaching myself using codecademy, but I did learn new things that a lot of the sites I used didn’t teach me. For example the importance of meta tags and UTF-8. You should always include a meta-tag with UTF-8 so that your website will encode the appropriate information.

“Encoding is how these numbers are translated into binary numbers to be stored in a computer”

We also learned awesome CSS animation tricks! Using keyframes I learned how to manipulate the HTML elements on the screen.

After I learned how to implement them in class, I went home and learned about them more in-depth using youtube.

By the end of the week, we learned how to build our first-in-class website!

website.png

 

Leave a comment